Genre: Historical

BOOK REVIEW: Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews

Posted January 16, 2018 by Fizzy Pop in book review, Mesu Andrews, Prophets and Kings / 0 Comments

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by Blogging for Books, NetGalley, Waterbrook Press. I was not compensated for this review and all thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.

BOOK REVIEW: Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu AndrewsIsaiah's Daughter by Mesu Andrews
Series: Prophets and Kings #1
Published by Crown Publishing Group on 2018
Genres: Christian, Fiction, Historical, Religious
Pages: 400
Source: Blogging for Books, NetGalley, Waterbrook Press
Amazon|Barnes&Noble|Goodreads

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.

Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

"Andrews (The Pharaoh's Daughter) offers her unique brand of in-depth Bible knowledge and storytelling flair ... [she] is gifted at bringing the past to life..." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Biblical fiction can go one of only two ways, it can be done extremely well or it can do a complete 180 from that and be done completely so far from well that it’s well you know what 180 means.  Even established amazing Biblical fiction authors can have those 180 books.  Every time I pick one up I know the risks.  Heck, I embrace the risks.  It’s a genre I love and Mesu Andrews hit it out of the park with ‘Isaiah’s Daughter’.  There were a few things that gave me pause but all in all this book made King Hezekiah and Queen Hephzibah come to life in all the right ways.

Let’s briefly glance over the things I was washy on and get to the good stuff.  There were some word phrases and choices I wasn’t sure would have been relevant or appropriate during this time.  ‘Two shakes of a lambs tail’ uttered by the midwife when she left to get poppy seed after Hephzibah’s first miscarriage.  ‘Heartburn’ as mentioned by Hephzibah during her pregnancy when she talked about the burning in the back of her throat.  This feels like a more recent reference term to me and less like it would have been a thing during the time of the Kings.  Finally, when the doctor referred to Hezekiah’s illness as the ‘black death’.  He referenced it to his time studying in Egypt and while the plague has been traced to potential roots in ancient Egypt I couldn’t find anything referencing that moniker for that time period.  Outside those three measly word choices the other part that bugged me just a bit was the time jumps.  I don’t mind time jumps generally, but until I was a bit into the chapter I wasn’t sure who was speaking or how much time had passed.  It was annoying to occasionally have to go back and re-read the first paragraph or two to truly understand once I’d figured out who and how long.  I was reading an advanced reader copy so it is possible that a simple header of each chapter was added to the final copy that would have prevented this confusion.  Lastly, the Epilogue.  Really?  While I get ‘why’ it was included I feel like it did absolutely nothing to enhance the book and actually detracted from the story of Ishma/Hephzibah as a whole.  This was her story from being a child refugee of war, to the adopted daughter of a prophet, to Queen of Judah.  This was her story of finding her center in Yahweh and her love in Hezekiah and her place in history.  This was not about her infant son with ten fingers and ten long narrow toes.  This was not about his future but his beginning.  Who he became took away from who she was.  The epilogue can just go…m’kay?

Let’s talk good stuff, shall we?  One thing I truly appreciated in this book was how it started with Ishma, renamed Hephzibah as a teen, as a young child.  The horrors that are war were muted when told through a child’s view.  Not that I think war, and the atrocities that go along with it, is something we should mute in our lives.  We are forever dealing with that in society even today and when we choose to mute it then that gives it power to grow.  However, that doesn’t mean that everything needs to be played out in our fiction.  Getting to grow up with Ishma brought a wholeness to the story of the would be queen.  I loved that each chapter was started with a verse relevant to the story as a whole and the chapter specifically.  I loved the inclusion of prophecy and the arguments that it brought out in two people who truly loved each other.  Let’s face it.  I struggle with names and dates and timelines and all the things that come so easy to other people.  I’ve studied Old Testament and the time of the Kings without much success in keeping it all straight or even the why things happened.  Whey did the tribes split into two nations?  Why were some so horridly evil?  I’ve studied it but I’ve never truly understood it.  I mean I still don’t, but for this brief moment in all of this, ‘Isaiah’s Daughter’ put just a part of that in perspective.  OK, fine I’ll still be lost in the jumble of words that is the Kings.  The truth is this story, with all the liberties that even Biblical fiction authors take in their words, brought this story of this king and his time on this earth into a perspective that I’ll never gain by Biblical study.  Fiction that enhances truth by taking real people that walked this earth and make them relateable and knowable and whole again.  Ultimately, that is what makes a great book.

Isaiah's Daughter (Prophets and Kings, #1)
Fizzy Signature

About Mesu Andrews

Mesu Andrews

Mesu Andrews’ deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for her readers. She and her husband, Roy, live in a log cain snuggled into the beautiful Appalachian Mountains with their dog, Zeke. The Andrews’ have two married daughters and a small tribe of grandkids. Mesu loves movies, football, waterfalls, and travel.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Divider
BOOK REVIEW: A Song Unheard by Roseanna White

BOOK REVIEW: A Song Unheard by Roseanna White

If you remember last July when I fell in love with this series then you know why I was so anxious to get my hands on this book.  Need a refresher?  Check out my review of ‘A Name Unknown‘.  I had high hopes with the return to the family and the mysterious Mr. V in their lives.  While this book didn’t disappoint on some levels I wasn’t quite as drawn into it as I was the first in the series.  I’m still all in though and ready for the next book at it’s earliest convenience. Let’s talk about where it fell flat for me.  Perhaps the first book did this and I didn’t notice it but there were a lot of choppy, fragged sentences; predominately early in the book and the again later in the book.  It was a thing throughout but it eased up as the characters fell into […]

Divider
BOOK REVIEW: The Sound of Rain by Sarah Loudin Thomas

BOOK REVIEW: The Sound of Rain by Sarah Loudin Thomas

Posted January 11, 2018 by Fizzy Pop in book review, Sarah Loudin Thomas / 0 Comments

When I started reading this book I was on the phone with Kristin (it’s a thing, just embrace it).  She hasn’t read it yet and I was so into this story I kept telling her she needed to start it ‘right now’.  Just to chapter 7 so we can talk about this thing.  Just start it so I can get your opinion on this other thing.  She still hasn’t started it yet and I’ve finished it just as enamored by the book’s first sentence as I was the last. Imagine waking up in the most complete total darkness that you can imagine.  So dark that the idea of light becomes foreign.  Literally no light, fragments of anything resembling light.  So dark you aren’t even sure you are alive.  And that shoe you feel touching your head?  It’s your own, but it’s still attached to your body.  OK, I think I […]

Divider
BOOK REVIEW: The Lacemaker by Laura Frantz

BOOK REVIEW: The Lacemaker by Laura Frantz

Posted January 8, 2018 by Fizzy Pop in book review, Laura Frantz / 0 Comments

Nothing burns my buttons more than having to ‘sit’ on a book when I finish it.  I finished this book last night when I was without a computer and time on my hands … to start another book of course.  I had such grand thoughts and emotional things to share about this book.  A lot of it frustration but in my head it was engaging and somewhat entertaining.  And now?  It’s gone.  Gone in the ether that is my oft forgetful brain.  Gone in the world of thinking.  I try really hard not to think ya know?  And here we go. I had high hopes for this book based on the synopsis.  Heck, I even liked the cover and I’m not a cover junkie like some people (ahem, Kristin).  I was expecting some intensity, some action, and even a fresh perspective (you know, Tory) from an engaging and interesting period […]

Divider
BOOK REVIEW: An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter

BOOK REVIEW: An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter

When I saw this book I knew I had to read it.  I didn’t pay enough attention to the fact that it was fourth in a series.  In my goal to read ‘all the books’ this was just a minor hiccup, not a setback.  Until it was.  All the books people, it’s harder than it sounds.  I found other books slipping in and pushing this book back because there were three that needed to be read.  I found the end of the year creeping up on me and books that were still waiting in the wings for their turn to shine.  I took a leap and crossed my toes and dove into ‘An Inconvenient Beauty’ hoping on hopes that it would read well as a stand alone novel.  I was not disappointed, nor was I lost, as I flew through the pages.  Yes, the experience would have been enriched with […]

Divider